Hacking Away a Sunday Night

Country music playing.  Keyboard typing. Still seeing a little light out over the fjord outside my parents’ house here in Tysvær. Just finished setting up a server in Bergen to host WordPress sites. It’s a task that might seem easy for seasoned system administrators. However, for me (not being a seasoned sysadmin) it was a nice chance to learn something new by setting all this up via command line remotely, talking to a machine several hours away (if traveling by bus). Feels satisfying somehow. Command line definitely adds to the coolness factor.

living room photo

Living room with new flooring, stuff waiting to be reorganized in the background.

seeing the fjord in the distance dimly lit

Middle of the night. Still light. Seeing the fjord in the distance.

 

Memo to myself of resources used

  1. I first installed LAMP on my linux server, which is a bundle open-source software used for hosting web sites.
  2. Since I had a web app already running on the default port 80, I wanted to change the apache default port, solution for that here.
  3. Restarting the server surfaced some errors complaining about a missing servername, found a solution here.
  4. After searching some more I found this nice writeup of how to install WordPress on linux via command line.
  5. I followed the steps in the how-to for a while until I realized that I had forgotten my mysql password. Found a way to reset mysql password here.
  6. The wordpress “pretty” permalinks didn’t work properly. Solution here.

Presto! Server successfully hosting a wordpress installation. :)

Leave a Reply

